Sage Music Earns 101 Five-Star Reviews

5 out of 5 stars

How our students describe us

You don’t need to take our word. Below are all of our reviews from 3rd party websites like Google Reviews, Yelp, Facebook, Thumbtack, and more. We print all of our reviews here, including negative reviews.

We currently have 101 five-star reviews and 1 one-star review. (As of 07/15/2020.)

We think you’ll agree this is a pretty excellent track record. Our reviews are usually very detailed. And we hope they give you a better idea of how our students experience our service.

Sage Music Reviews Word Cloud

06/20/2020

The best way to describe this school in my opinion would be “exactly how you would design school as a kid if you could”. In other words I heavily admire that they allow me to bring them my goals and they lead me there directly. Not through a maze of confusion and customs but for me I’m being taken straight to what I imagined when I pictured myself as a cellist. The instructor is very intuitive and she also has a very good eye for what can be improved on. I’m sure it sounds like a common trait of a music teacher but her level of skill as a cellist paired with the solid structure of the school leads me to learn excessively quick. And I heard elsewhere that it’s suppsoed to be hard as an adult beginner. I’m not sure if that’s true or not but I actually look forward to my weekly lessons and I’m sure I always will.

Oh and I forgot to mention all of this has been happening through video chat due to covid. The fact that I’ve seen as much progress as I have from my apartment is amazing. Not to mention they gave me two other free classes that help me take it what I’m taught. I couldn’t really say enough.

5 out of 5 stars

– Jonathan Lynch, Google Reviews

05/23/2020

I’ve been a guitar student of Matt’s at Sage Music for about a year, and I’m excited about my progress. The teaching methods are fantastic, the lessons are very customized to my goals, and it’s been great to understand the theory behind the music I enjoy and exactly what makes it interesting. I came into the lessons simply wanting to rekindle and old hobby, but I’m very thrilled with my newfound ability to play with stronger technique, more intention, and to be able to improvise along with other musicians in the group classes.

The lessons and teaching methods at Sage are very structured and meant to create progress, and to help students get more substance and more enjoyment out of individual practice sessions outside of the lesson. It’s a really unique way of teaching. I’d highly recommend taking a class!

5 out of 5 stars

– Elliot Hasdan, Google Reviews

04/15/2020

I want to take a minute and give my personal experience at Sage Music.
As student its important to get the best training possible to be able to get all tools needed in order to achive each goal. I’m in singing class and I want to thank Elisabeth Shoup for being such a GREAT teacher. Her level of professionalism goes above and beyond. As many of you know the world’s going to a crisis right now with this Pandemic that forced all schools and many other businesses to close but Sage Music continued with its online class and I enjoyed it a lot I didn’t have any difficulties and it went as great as if it was in person. Thank you.

5 out of 5 stars

– Sebastien S, Google Reviews

02/23/2020

My daughter started playing the flute in her elementary school band and asked for private lessons. She started taking flute lessons with Michael about a year ago and has loved every lesson. Michael has nurtured her curiosity about music and has invited her to choose music that she loves – Broadway showtunes! She is even now sharing her skills with her band teacher at school that she learned with Michael. Sage Music is super professional, organized and we couldn’t be happier with our daughter’s progress. I highly recommend!

5 out of 5 stars

– Michelle Castillo, Google Reviews

2/03/2030

Started taking piano lessons in 2019. SAGE is very professional organization and extremely responsive. They meet with you before you start the lessons to determine what your music goals are and to help develop a plan for success. I have been very happy working with my teacher Jacob Silver. Jacob has supported my goals by providing valuable insight, guidance and tools. After every session he provides music lesson notes and agreed upon practice routines. When I have a question I can send him an email and I always get a quick response. My playing skills are consistently improving. I highly recommend Sage Music.

5 out of 5 stars

– John Vaccaro, Google Reviews

1/29/2020

I have taken piano lessons for approximately 3 months with Jacob. During this time, Jacob has taught me with great patience and kindness. He is very understanding of your needs, and I can assure you that he is extremely knowledgeable in piano music. Jacob makes you feel comfortable during your lessons and know that neither him or any other staff members will pass judgment on your abilities. I can only say positive things about the staff. Everyone has been super kind and they will always give you a warm welcome. I highly recommend this school for anyone who has the desire to learn to play an instrument. Thank you for all of your support!

5 out of 5 stars

– Natalie Mendo, Google Reviews

1/12/2020

I have really enjoyed my experience at Sage Music and look forward to continuing learning the clarinet there! Veronica in the office has been great, accessible, and makes it very easy to schedule lessons and create a plan that works for you. Michael has been a really awesome teacher! He is very talented and really takes the time to figure out the best methods to keep you on track and getting to the next level each lesson! All in all, I would highly recommend this studio for a great experience!

5 out of 5 stars

– Neal Yaffe, Google Reviews

1/9/2020

5 out of 5 stars

– Christina Powaday, Google Reviews

12/15/2019

After studying violin for two years with another teacher who gave birth to twins and could no longer give private lessons, I had my first Violin lesson via Skype with Jeremy Roberts today and it went very well. I felt very comfortable with him and his style of teaching left me feeling encouraged and with the sense that I have come to the right place for real growth in my violin playing. I’m excited and looking forward to my next lesson. Now it’s time to enjoy and get to work on my homework. Perfect practice makes perfect with Sage. Lol

5 out of 5 stars

– Ken Gill, Google Reviews

11/17/2019

I ‘taught’ myself guitar in high school over 16 years ago and even though I was able to work up the skills to play some pleasant sounds, I always felt this barrier and level of doubt kept me from truly enjoying the act of playing and expressing myself. Basic music theory made sense on a superficial level, but true understanding and the ability to apply it in my playing often felt out very of reach.

I am now closing in on my first full year of weekly guitar lessons with Matt Kaplan and while it is remains clear I have a lot left to learn, it is significantly less daunting and discouraging. Things have finally started falling into place and the “language of music” comes more naturally the more I practice and “eat my (arpeggio) veggies.”

With increasing frequency I find myself picking up my guitar, getting lost in my playing, and realizing 30, 45, 60+ minutes have passed by. I am actually starting to LOVE playing guitar instead of feeling defeated by what I can’t do or don’t know.

5 out of 5 stars

– Matthew Opanowski, Google Reviews

11/2/2019

Sage Music puts efforts to know my goal and makes sure I am happy with the customized lessons. I enjoy every voice lesson with Christina. Time always flew by so quickly while we were focusing on the voice and the songs. I felt great and refreshed after each class. I am really grateful that Christina Christofi is my instructor, who is very nice and has a warm personality.

5 out of 5 stars

– Weiru K, Yelp

9/7/2019

For learning classical guitar, this was one of the wisest choicest I have made. Matt Kaplan is a fantastic teacher at Sage Music and he is to be recommend to anyone of any age. I started at 44 and have gotten very good at playing in almost 3 years. You can indeed teach an old dog new tricks. The staff is very friendly and make you feel like you are part of the family.

5 out of 5 stars

– Christian Bermudez, Google Reviews

9/4/2019

Great music school.
My seven year old daughter started taking piano lessons with Jacob and she love it.
Progressive teaching method, goal oriented, affordable and flexible scheduling.
I’m very happy I came across Sage.

5 out of 5 stars

– Mirona V, Yelp

7/18/2019

Elisabeth is an amazing voice teacher! She has helped me improve my voice both in terms of volume and of how clear it comes out within 3 lessons, not even kidding!

She is great at helping you visualize how your voice should come out and be positioned correctly.
By all means, if there was a higher than 5 stars rating I could give to Elisabeth and to Sage, I would!

5 out of 5 stars

– Panagiotis Zagaliotis, Google Reviews

6/20/2019

Sage music teachers are highly qualified, kind, and unbelievably helpful. Not only does Matt, my classical guitar teacher, offer extremely helpful feedback during lessons, he also listens to audio clips I make during the week and answers questions between lessons. His generosity and commitment to his students is unwavering. Not only is there the opportunity to participate in recitals, but also in open mic nights, where the ambiance is relaxed and less intimidating.

Veronica, who manages the business side, is professional and friendly, and makes time before your lesson starts feel like free time with friends. Not to mention the occasional appearance of Jason’s dog, Bijou, who can’t help but make you feel at home!

The combination of elite level instruction and warmth is really unique, and is an experience I can only recommend wholeheartedly.

5 out of 5 stars

– Kate Bendrick, Google Reviews

6/10/2019

We used the performance space at Sage Music for our private studio recital, and it was a great experience. Friendly staff who were easy to work with, a nice space, and reasonable rates.

5 out of 5 stars

– Nora Krohn, Google Reviews

2/27/2019

I love Sage! My daughter Mia has attended other music schools but none as professional as Sage! The instructors are wonderful and inspire the students to learn and practice. Mia takes vocal and Ukelele classes and absolutely loves it! She has been a student at Sage for almost 3 years and will continue to take classes and participate in their wonderful recitals!

5 out of 5 stars

– Rosa Jacquez, Google Reviews

2/13/2019

In the amount of time that I have been a voice student at Sage Music, I have noticed a significant amount of growth within the past 6 months. My teacher Olivia Smith is an incredible voice instructor & I can now say I have more confidence and ability to perform in front of a live audience. I recommend to anyone wanting to learn and master an instrument/voice. Sage Music is the place to be!

5 out of 5 stars

– Gabby Fontes Music, Google Reviews

2/10/2019

I am so happy I found SAGE music. I am taking private Saxophone lessons at their Greenpoint and LIC locations with Michael Conklin. I am band student in the high level program at IS318. I had switched from percussion to Saxophone this past Fall. With Michael’s help I was able to make dramatic progress in just 5 months and I am doing excellent amongst my very experienced saxophone classmates. Michael is fun, patient and serious at the same time. Sage is a very professional Music School. I highly recommend it! (Mason)

5 out of 5 stars

– Glenna Dilone, Google Reviews

2/10/2019

I really appreciate the step by step approach at sage music. I also especially like the way the focus is on your personal goals. I’ve been at sage music for just about three months and already see much progress and feel more focused. Thank you Michael Conklin for teaching me, guiding me, and caring for my success.

5 out of 5 stars

– Tzemach G, Google Reviews

1/27/2019

Can hardly believe it’s already been 1 year since I started taking guitar lessons in Sage Music, and I can say all the progress, support and benefits that the Sage Music and the awesome faculty has provided me with can be scarcely overstated. With a goal to become an approachable art teacher to my own group of students, break a stereotypical view that I have towards myself(not-born-for-music) due to all the trouble I’ve gone through with all the musical instruments I tried in the past and develop a life-long hobby/profession, I discovered Sage Music to help me with my great mission. As a fresh new beginner with zero guitar experience who was in need of a professional’s guidance, every lesson and session I took since day 1, I’ve witnessed and experienced my instructor’s(Matt Kaplan) professionalism, passion and willingness to do the best for his students in every way possible. No matter how stuck and discouraged you maybe, Sage Music will be there for you and will help you and they will succeed. When you are packed with overwhelming passion to learn and/or get musical therapy to soothe, spice up yourself and your life style and step up to a new level but not sure where to seek the right people, Sage Music is the one for you.

5 out of 5 stars

– Fred Lee, Google Reviews

1/20/2019

I’ve been taking clarinet lessons at Sage Music for almost three years. My playing has drastically improved over this time and as a result I’ve been successful in auditioning for NYC All City High School Concert Band and Summer Arts Institute run by NYC Department of Education. The woodwind teacher, Michael Conklin, has been a great partner in this process. The staff and teachers have always been very welcoming and supportive. Congratulations to Sage on their expansion into a much bigger space.

5 out of 5 stars

– Alexandre Ikama, Google Reviews

12/18/2018

I studied drums at Sage Music with Brian Reynolds earlier this year. The very first day, Brian asked, “What are your goals?” — by the end of the first practice I was behind the kit, holding down a beat. It was amazing! He picked up a guitar, and we were jamming AC/DC “Back in Black” Just like that!

Brian is an excellent teacher. He’s a good listener, he didn’t try to persuade me, he taught me exactly what I was hoping to learn which I really appreciate. He’s an excellent communicator, patient, and superb musician. Lessons were fun, we shared music, and inspired one another.

I would definitely recommend Brian if you’re interested in learning to play the drums!

5 out of 5 stars

– David Lucas, Google Reviews

12/6/2018

I am so impressed with Sage Music – this school has it down! I feel like I have a family there, taking such good care of me…they create an unusual container that I’ve never experienced in any type of school before. The support and encouragement is so genuine, they really, really care for their students and will go the extra mile to see them succeed and make progress. My guitar teacher, Matt, invited me to participate in the next open mic and kindly offered to accompany me for my song. Highly recommend!

5 out of 5 stars

– Lynn Levy, Google Reviews

11/12/2018

I am in singing class and it is a great opportunity to express myself. I love doing studio classes and I really hope we do them with duets!!!

5 out of 5 stars

– Melanie Lopez, Google Reviews

10/30/2018

It’s a really good play to start with a new instrument! The teacher there is very professional and supportive, and he always the taught me based on both my personal interest (music styles, focus of what I’d like to practice, skill, emotion expression, etc) as well as standard learning procedure (cannot learn too much within too short period). Also, I believe that the school have well documentation to manage every student’s learning status, and my teacher always encouraged a lot in every class. One more thing, they have instrument for rent, which is good for someone who’s not sure if they wanna spent a thousand dollars on a big instrument such as a cello.

5 out of 5 stars

– Shiheng Wang, Google Reviews

10/29/2018

Looking for a place to get lessons and get the added benefit of being part of a musical community? Then Sage is the best! I needed cello lessons and check out this local music school and have been blown away by the quality of my lessons, the pedagogy and the warm, friendly faculty! They have done everything to make this beginner feel like a musician and my playing has never been better! Highly recommended!

5 out of 5 stars

– Steven Silva, Google Reviews

9/17/2018

I took violin classes at Sage. I am a beginner and was looking to get some good introduction / basics right from the start that would help me in the long run. The instructors at Sage were brilliant and helped me achieve exactly what i was looking for. Nick and Angela were amazing. They went above and beyond to make sure i was comfortable and paced the lessons at the speed i needed. I recommend Sage to everyone, beginners or for people looking to improve their skills. Thank you Nick and Angela..!!!

5 out of 5 stars

– Prasanna V, Yelp

8/15/2018

I am taking violin lessons here after putting the instrument down 30 years ago. Having worked with two instructors (Angela and Nick) I found both were equally responsive to my learning style, and have provided individualized feedback / instruction which happens to generate great momentum for practice in between lessons. Very pragmatic manner of instruction, gives me a sense of mastery over technique which really propels my desire to study and practice. Bonus with new studio space: regular presence of a very friendly dog. Highly recommend.

5 out of 5 stars

– Alexandra Masciotti, Google Reviews

8/6/2018

I had always wanted to learn to sing on a highly skilled level but was terrified of performing songs in front of a crowd and had no confidence in my vocal abilities. After working with Olivia Smith she has really elevated me as an actor and performer and is so accommodating with my hectic schedule. The director Veronica is also awesome and friendly and does a great job at creating a warm and supportive environment for growing artists. An extra bonus is that it’s very affordable.

5 out of 5 stars

– Kimberly Singh, Google Reviews

8/4/2018

We really can’t say enough good things about Sage. Not only are they affordable, but they go the extra mile to accommodate our ever-changing and hectic schedule. I also want to give a special shout to Julian, our instructor. He is so patient and so kind with our 4-year-old. No matter how fidgety he gets, Julian is able to steer him back on track. And he has really tailored the lessons to our son’s interests. He’s an outstanding music teacher! We tried a few other piano schools before this one but felt immediately comfortable at Sage. Even if you’re not in LIC, it’s worth the train ride!

5 out of 5 stars

– Geoffrey Krawczyk, Google Reviews

8/2/2018

Great local concerts, a overall great experience.

5 out of 5 stars

– Derek Lytle, Google Reviews

7/2/2018

Such an incredible experience. Would highly recommend Sage Music to anyone – whether you are picking up an instrument for the first time, or just looking to improve your practice in a specific area, Sage Music really meets you where you’re at. Matt is an INCREDIBLE guitar teacher and only have amazing things to say!

5 out of 5 stars

– Emily Woisin, Google Reviews

7/2/2018

I’ve taken violin lessons here for a month now. In that time I’ve learned a lot and truly have started to play music and not just rhythmically scrape at my violin. My boyfriend and dog are overjoyed and continue to encourage me to attend lessons here. Angela has the patient of a saint and the weird lady who works the desk is pretty cool too. All in all I highly recommend Sage Music as an adult beginner. People are nice, the pricing is extremely fair for how much you learn, and the environment is friendly and inviting.

5 out of 5 stars

– Rachel B, Yelp

6/25/2018

The teacher i was assigned was amazing at teaching me the, what I believe are the best ways to play the instrument I chose to learn. Which is the guitar, teaching me technique and a bit of reading music to further expand this new hobby that I fell in love with and made it grew immensely. Honestly I would recommend to any aspiring musician to give these lessons a try. Worth every single penny.

5 out of 5 stars

– Mario Egocheaga, Google Reviews

6/15/2018

My son has attended sage for three years and has been able to overcome his cognitive deficits and learn the piano with the supportive staff of sage music. Thank you to the hard work of the director, manager, and staff They have helped create a new piano player the Autism community.

5 out of 5 stars

– Giselle, Google Reviews

6/5/2018

I have had a fantastic experience with Sage Music. The organization is efficient, professional, personable and convenient, with many thanks to Veronica. The recitals give the studio a great community vibe. My piano teacher Nicole is fantastic and has me feeling like a super piano virtuoso even as a beginner. Her lessons mix theory and practical skills and are always challenging, entertaining and keep me on track. The only music lessons I’ve ever stuck with. Five stars!

5 out of 5 stars

– Tamara Anderson, Google Reviews

5/27/2018

THE MOST CHARMING PLACE

5 out of 5 stars

– Tara Rawal, Google Reviews

5/23/2018

Amazing teachers! they are patient and knowledgeable. Highly recommended!👍

5 out of 5 stars

– Rick Franco, Google Reviews

5/16/2018

OUTSTANDING!

5 out of 5 stars

– VRL NYC, Google Reviews

4/16/2018

I wanted to take a trial lesson to see whether my kid would be interested in taking lessons here. According to the website, they recommend calling them before buying an instrument so they can guide you or rent one from them. When we called, they recommended reserving a trial lesson spot and they did not have the instrument my child wanted to play and the only option was a “rent to buy” option which was almost twice what I wanted to pay so the next morning I decided to cancel the trial lesson until I can find a cheaper instrument. That’s when I was told that they would not refund my deposit because it was against their policy. What policy!? I never signed an agreement or was told about his “policy”! It was a verbal agreement and less than 12 hrs old! I called again the day after that and they said thehey would look into not charging me but they still charged my credit card! I would NEVER go to this place because of their shoddy business practices and they have just lost a customer because they are greedy scammers that make up their own rules without even informing potential customers. They are so quick to call you back and try to get you to agree to taking a trial lesson but then when there is a problem they are remarkably unavailable.
I do NOT recommend this place because they do not have any integrity!

I was never contacted by phone and only through email in response to this review. My husband was never told the policy until we asked for our deposit. In addition I called to cancel LESS than 24 hrs later and was told no way. I understand if this was a day before the lesson but this was OVER a week in advance before the trial lesson. Even doctors allow for cancellations with that amount of time! Children get sick, lose interest, etc. This kind of over the top policy seems ridiculous.

1 out of 5 stars

– A T, Yelp

Owners Response:

Hi Anna,

We are always available for our students, including you.

Over the last weeks, we’ve made several attempts to reach you to reach you by phone, email, and direct message here on yelp.

We do everything above board at Sage Music and don’t hide the policies from anyone. They are publicly posted at sagemusic.co/policies and are linked on your invoice.  Our registration software doesn’t allow our staff to take payment until the policies have been read. When your husband registered your son, he was read the policies and also verbally agreed to them.

Perhaps there is some misunderstanding because your husband did the registration? We do not have a rent to buy option, and we do not take deposits. All lessons are paid in advance at the time of purchase.

Once we book a lesson, we are obligated to pay our teachers for the scheduled time. This is why the no lesson refunds policy exists. We have great teachers at our school, and we can only keep these great teachers around by protecting their time. If we didn’t do so, then we wouldn’t have such a great school full of top notch teachers and such otherwise awesome reviews!

We made every effort to reschedule the lesson for you at a more convenient time. We also offered to help you find a less costly instrument for your son elsewhere. I’m not sure what else we could have done for you. If there is something we missed, please do let me know.

Also, I have gone through our records, and see that you did contact us from the form on our website FAQ page which lists our policies sagemusic.co/faqs

If you would get back to us, we’d be happy to personally address your concerns as best we can.  Looking forward to speaking with you.

3/21/2018

My first lesson was great! I am 34 and decided I wanted to learn how to play the guitar. I have zero background in music other than what i listen to on Spotify. Matt, my teacher, immediately started to show me correct form, from how to hold the pick and where my thumb should be on the pick to where my hand should be after a strum. I learned so much on my first lesson!

5 out of 5 stars

– Gonzo G, Yelp

2/5/2018

When I first started considering singing lessons, I was genuinely scared. I’m not musically trained and I don’t read music. But I was so happily surprised when I joined Sage. They do a great job at gauging where you are when it comes to music and really working with your strengths and helping you with weaknesses. I had both Olivia and DJ and I always looked forward to my lessons. Olivia even started showing me how to read music! I can’t wait to re-enroll with Sage because they do a great job at setting up an environment you can learn in and they really take into consideration what your goals are !

5 out of 5 stars

– Allyson Corally P, Yelp

9/11/2017

5 out of 5 stars

– Andrei Damian, Google Reviews

3/14/2017

I’ve had the pleasure of working with Jason on a piano project a little while ago, and he was great start to finish. I’ve attended a concert at the school and met some of the teachers, and everything I have seen about Sage is highly professional, with the truly admirable goal of helping musicians of all ages and skill levels become better and more productive. Give Jason a call, you won’t regret it! Highly recommended!

5 out of 5 stars

– Brian W, Yelp

8/11/2016

Aleks is a great teacher and Jason has been very hospitable, it’s been a great 2 years at Sage Music.

5 out of 5 stars

– Justin Berhang, Google Reviews

5/11/2016

Sage Music School is the best choice I made for my daughters. I have three daughters playing three different instruments. They did an outstanding job in scheduling their music classes all at the same time. They also are very flexible with our classes. My girls enjoy practicing and always look forward to meeting with their wonderful teachers. The teachers are fantastic, patient and professional!

5 out of 5 stars

– Eloisa Fontanez, Google Reviews

5/11/2016

I am studying the violin and my wife is studying the clarinet. Our individual instructions are professional and enjoyable. I am amazed at how fast we have both come along. This is a school I highly recommend.

5 out of 5 stars

– Alan Williams, Google Reviews

5/11/2016

Have taken guitar lessons for over a year here with Jason – fantastic teacher, highly recommended.

5 out of 5 stars

– Cillian Sharkey, Google Reviews

2/12/2016

Me and my daughter loved the consultation with Jason and Jasmine was very helpful with all my questions I hope to see you soon

5 out of 5 stars

– Sandra Cuzco, Google Reviews

12/3/2015

I just started violin about 11 months ago. My instructor, Evan, learned about my objectives and he learned which genres interested me. He went out of his way to prepare for lessons, including hand writing supplemental exercises as well as incorporating basic music and jazz theory into the lesson. He also shared information about performances in the community. He has been very knowledgeable, flexible, and gentle during this first chapter of my new hobby, and I have appreciated his time.

5 out of 5 stars

– Margaret Griffith, Google Reviews

3/24/2015

I’ve been taking guitar lessons with Taro for over a year, and I can’t recommend them (and him!) enough. I’m continuing to steadily improve, and I’m enjoying both playing and practicing more than ever.

5 out of 5 stars

– Josiah Madigan, Google Reviews

10/11/2015

I have been working with Stefanie Izzo, Sage’s vocal teacher for the past few months. I usually don’t do Yelp reviews, but I feel compelled to do so simply because I have loved the experience thus far and feel that this is a review past overdue. Stefanie is beyond brilliant and an excellent teacher. You don’t just spend your time singing through a song and then head out the door. Rather, Stefanie goes through the mechanics/physics/science behind singing and explains specifically why a certain technique does/doesn’t work and or why you are having difficulty singing a certain note etc., and then shows you various ways of working on whatever it is that you need to work on. She’s constructive in her feedback and I can honestly say, as someone who had never worked up the nerve to take lessons and sing in front of others until this year, that I have never felt uncomfortable/judged when practicing with Stefanie. I’m always impressed. I would recommend taking voice lessons at Sage any day – whether it’s just for fun or because you are super serious about singing.

5 out of 5 stars

– Sab K, Yelp

2/28/2015

Let me give you some background on me first. I’ve been “playing” guitar for 23 years and have gone through 4 teachers though I’m mainly self taught. Every teacher took a very dry and ground up approach to teaching and left me frustrated and ultimately bored a few weeks in. Jason from Sage music, takes a creative and bespoke approach to teaching. His methods eschew the traditional classroom ones and instead make the lessons and homework dynamic and varied which keeps me engaged and excited for the next lesson. I find myself practicing daily and seeing marked improvement for the first time in years! Pricing is very reasonable and he is very flexible wiht rescheduling around my busy calendar. The location is conveniently located next to Court Square (E,M,7) upstairs from a cafe.
Can’t say enough nice things about Jason and Sage Music.

5 out of 5 stars

– Sachin B, Yelp

6/23/2014

I’ve always wanted to formally learn a musical instrument (specifically, the piano) but did not have the opportunity to do so until recently. I had concerns whether I would be able to accomplish this as an adult (or whether I would find a school that was well-experienced in teaching adults, as opposed to kids). Those concerns have been completely done away with in the six months I have taken classes at Sage Music.

This school is fantastic. The studio is located 5 minutes from the Court Square stop so its very convenient to multiple subway lines (they also have a studio in Brooklyn). In addition, the hours are pretty flexible and the tuition very reasonable. Jason Sagebiel (the owner), has a unique life story and runs a very tight ship, but is unfailingly courteous and professional. It’s obvious he really believes in his school and wants everyone — including his teachers — to succeed and have a good time.

I can’t say enough positive things about my teacher, Aleksandra (Alex). She has an approachable and patient personality, and tailors her instruction style to her students’ particular skill set, personality style, and goals. She also challenges students – in a respectful way – to reach their potential, and that has been very satisfying. In addition, she takes a genuine interest in her students’ lives and that personal approach is refreshing. It has been a real pleasure working with her — in a word – she’s marvelous.

If you are looking for musical instruction in a fun, personal, and collaborative environment, consider Sage Music. Check them out!

5 out of 5 stars

– Julius T, Yelp

6/2/2014

I love Sage Music. My daughter needed music therapy to help with her mouth muscles and Sage Music did all the research needed to help her. They were courteous, affordable, respectful and always available to speak to. I highly recommend them!

5 out of 5 stars

– Foodie C, Yelp

5/23/2014

I take guitar at Sage Music with Jason Sagebiel and I couldn’t be happier with the quality of the lessons. The teachers here, Jason especially, are knowledgeable, experienced, and patient. Most importantly they are able to tailor the lessons to a student’s specific goals and needs, which is not necessarily the norm in music education. I highly recommend Sage Music to students of all ages, levels, and goals.

5 out of 5 stars

– Adam L, Yelp

7/12/2013

I really loved my lessons at Sage Music! I had purchased a deal through Amazon Local and I wish I had done it earlier! I was studying Guitar with Jason and he really took the time to understand what I wanted to get out of the lessons and helped me learn proper technique to achieve my goals. I would highly recommend their studio in LIC!

5 out of 5 stars

– Samantha G, Yelp

7/4/2013

Jason is a teacher of the highest caliber. With great patience and ability to convey his vast pedagogical knowledge, I am making progress in correcting years of bad guitar habits. Jason is an impressive guitar teacher from whom I am not only learning correct skills and techniques, but good practice habits, concentration, musical composition, theory and physiology. He is a calm, passionate and dedicated individual

5 out of 5 stars

– Linda F, Thumbtack

7/2/2013

My experience with Sage Music has been amazing. Jason and his team provides service that is above and beyond. They are willing to adapt and listen to your needs. They are passionate with what they do and it truely shows. My 5 year old daughter took piano lessons for over 6 months. I have to give all the credit to Sage Music for building the confidence in her as she now plays independently without much help. I’m impressed with the technique taught by Sage despite the little fingers she has….the key strokes are very precise. Thank you

5 out of 5 stars

– Avelyn H, Thumbtack

7/2/2013

I was somewhat worried about starting piano lessons at 36 years old, but thankfully I found Sage Music. I couldn’t imagine a better place to learn music than with Jason and his team. They take the time to make sure you understand the mechanics (mental and physical) in playing an instrument, and the pace of learning is set by the individual. Highly recommend Sage Music.

5 out of 5 stars

– Christopher T, Thumbtack

7/1/2013

Fabulous music school: Jason infuses a spirit of calm enthusiasm and respect which really encourages rapid learning (both for adults and for children). It’s been a joy…

5 out of 5 stars

– Grateful P, Thumbtack

7/1/2013
My son has been Jason’s student for more than six years. The results are outstanding.

5 out of 5 stars

– Boris K, Thumbtack

7/1/2013
Jason Sagebiel is an excelent guitar instructor. Jason is teaching how to play an accoustic electric guitar. I been going to him for about 2 years and have learned both practical and theory. I highly recommend Jason as a guitar instructor.

5 out of 5 stars

– Charles P, Thumbtack

7/1/2013

My son has been taking guitar lessons from Jason for nearly three years and according to him, it has been a wonderful experience. Jason is a very experienced and knowledgeable teacher who helps my son develop his music sense and correct way of practice. His critique and insight help my son grow as a guitar player. I would highly recommend Jason.

5 out of 5 stars

– Ning L, Thumbtack

6/30/2013

Jason knows the psychology and philosophy of learning applicable to a matured learner. He put his thought into making teaching guitar and drumming meaningful and cost-effective. Progress is felt right away with practice. He explained the mechanics and art of playing music. He made musicians out of his students. He is a teacher of teachers in music.

5 out of 5 stars

– Thomas S, Thumbtack

5/24/2013

I spent two years learning guitar on my own, and in two months of taking lessons at Sage music, I have improved enormously. These guys are technicians. They are helping me to form good habits that will enable me to play efficiently and effortlessly. Sage even helped me make modifications to my guitar. If you are serious about improving as a player, I highly recommend taking lessons here.

5 out of 5 stars

– Tim T, Yelp

4/21/2013

Though an experienced guitarist in many styles of music, like many others I’ve long felt I lacked the basic technique and focusing skills necessary to be fully in control of my playing and musical satisfaction in general. Jason’s refreshing back-to-basics, direct and supportive approach to technique has given my a playing a new lease on life. It’s been well worth the trek from Park Slope to LIC and back each Saturday!

5 out of 5 stars

– Robert G, Yelp

2/4/2012

I am an adult currently taking piano lessons at Long Island City Music School. My teacher is Mr. Coto. So far my experience has been just great . I am learning so much, because my teacher is a very skilled musician, and is very patient with me. I am truly enjoying my classes, and I love the atmosphere at the school. I look forward to going there every Saturday. I recommend this school for anyone looking to take piano lessons.

5 out of 5 stars

– Stephen S, Yelp