+1 (833) 537-0680

Sage Music School Reviews

You don’t need to take our word. Below are all of our reviews from 3rd party websites like Google Reviews, Yelp, Facebook, Thumbtack, and more. We print all of our reviews here, including negative reviews. We do not include any reviews by non-students.

We think you’ll agree this is a pretty excellent track record. Our reviews are usually very detailed. And we hope they give you a better idea of how our students experience our service.


Review Summary

5 star reviews

98%

4 star reviews

1%

3 star reviews

0%

2 star reviews

1%

1 star reviews

1%

Rating

We have 137 third-party reviews with a 4.9 aggregate rating from Google, Facebook, Thumbtack, and Yelp as of Feb. 25, 2024.

We'd encourage you to read all of our great reviews there.

All Reviews

Abby R.

Feb. 25, 2024

5 out of 5 stars

Great improvement in just 4 lessons

Absolutely amazing school!

My baby takes piano lessons with Mr. Michael. He’s only a few weeks in and has learned basic notes, chords and a song so far. My 4 year old had no previous musical experience when we started last month — he’s shown great improvement in just 4 lessons.

The price is fair for the quality of music lessons. They have an organized curriculum and easy access online portal for notes, lessons and other materials and resources. It’s really a great team of teachers.

Looking forward to my baby’s first recital!

- Google Reviews

Samantha V.

Feb. 6, 2024

5 out of 5 stars

Always a highlight of my week

I've been at Sage for almost a year and a half and it has been AWESOME.

Trying to pick up violin as an adult is hard but Sage has made it fun and well worth all the money and time invested into it. They've taught me everything from the ground up and have always been focused on my goals and what I want to achieve.

Going to my lessons is always a highlight of my week both for what I learn and the environment. The building is gorgeous and welcoming and the staff are professional and genuinely friendly (and also hilarious).

I can't say enough good things about Sage. Trust that they really care about you and your musical journey.

- Google Reviews

Francisco H.

Jan. 26, 2024

5 out of 5 stars

I have peace of mind

Staff casual and courteous people. I have peace of mind knowing they want us to learn due to the many questions on what the individual wants to learn & play.

- Google Reviews

Charles B.

Jan. 21, 2024

5 out of 5 stars

Their teachers encourage & challenge them at the same time

If you’re looking for a wonderful place, in San Antonio, to get involved in music lessons, this is your spot.

I have three (children) working on music; guitar, piano, & violin. Their teachers do an awesome job of meeting them where are. They are also encouraging & challenging them at the same time. This is not easy as all three are at different levels of musical growth.

The front office staff is extremely helpful as well!

- Google Reviews

Dustin H.

Jan. 17, 2024

5 out of 5 stars

Wholeheartedly recommend to anyone, any age

I started three years ago with zero knowledge of singing, unsure if I could even learn as an adult. Discovering Sage Music and Christina Christofi was a game-changer.

Christina's warm, professional, and patient approach immediately eased my nerves. From the basics of chest and head voice to finding my range, Christina guided me every step of the way.

Her dedication to ensuring correctness in vocal exercises stands out, yet she does it with kindness, fostering a safe space where mistakes are embraced without judgment.

In three years, I've learned two songs and expanded my comfort zone to embrace higher notes with a head voice – something I really didn't think could happen, but she believed in me. Christina's teaching style is not about moving through lessons for the sake of time; she genuinely cares about her students' success and creates an environment where one can learn and grow without embarrassment. While performing on stage isn't my goal (for now, who knows what the future brings), Christina has inspired me to set new targets.

In 2024, I'm going to work with her to record and share me singing a song on Instagram – a testament to the confidence and skills she has helped me develop.

Beyond being an excellent teacher, Christina is a remarkable and professional performer with a beautiful voice. I feel fortunate to have her as my guide on this musical journey and wholeheartedly recommend her to anyone, regardless of age, who aspires to learn how to sing.

- Google Reviews

Daniel C.

Jan. 16, 2024

5 out of 5 stars

Great experiences

Sage Music is the first place I have used for piano lessons for my son and Isaiah his instructor has been great. He keeps things light and engaging with the lessons which has slowly allowed my son to open up.

The weekend online sharing lesson with Joel are an added bonus in getting in some extra practice. Great experiences with Sage Music.

- Google Reviews

Ed C.

Jan. 14, 2024

5 out of 5 stars

Top notch music school

Top notch music school. My son has been going here for that last year and we highly recommend it. We’ve tried other schools and were dissatisfied due to the lack of structure and ability to actually teach their students. Isaiah is great and has high expectations, which I appreciate.

- Google Reviews

Ariella A.

Jan. 14, 2024

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

Joel is an amazing teacher. I am excited to grow with his instruction and knowledge of piano. Thank you, Joel!

- Google Reviews

Sherry Z.

Jan. 9, 2024

5 out of 5 stars

Overall a wonderful experience

Joel is a great teacher and Evie has been super helpful in managing schedules. Overall had a wonderful experience with Sage team.

- Google Reviews

Tiffany G.

Jan. 4, 2024

5 out of 5 stars

Such a blessing

It is such a blessing to have a school located in the heart of San Antonio. They offer in class and remote teaching.

Most importantly this school has talented, patience and kind teachers and staff my son has learned so much from.

- Google Reviews

Suzanne K.

Dec. 21, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Lessons tailored to how best I learn

I love Sage Music school!

Several years ago I studied classical guitar with the owner, Jason. He had such an in-depth knowledge of the learning process and approached teaching in a way that was systematic yet was still tailored to how I best learned. So of course now that I decided to learn piano, Sage was the only place I considered. They even offer online classes, which is surprisingly easier than it sounds and convenient too.

After an interview with Sage, they recommended the teacher that they thought was right for me, and they couldn't have been more spot on!

Joel is patient, friendly and his knowledge and passion for music is immediately evident upon meeting him. He really makes lessons relaxing and un-intimidating, as I felt comfortable playing in front of him after after only a handful of lessons -and that's surprising as I can get quite shy about that stuff. He is very patient with all my questions too and knows how to work with older learners.

The thing that really has surprised me so much about studying with Joel is that he really somehow understood rather quickly what music I would enjoy learning to and how he continued to tailor the music lessons the longer we worked together. It has felt so organic.

I've been really happy with all my experiences in studying piano with Joel, and all the people at Sage that have been so helpful.

- Google Reviews

Cassondra K.

Dec. 18, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Rehabilitating my mind and heart with music

The school has really re-opened up my world to music. I hadn’t played any instruments in years and decided to learn guitar. The instructors at this school are all wonderful, making it all the more easier to quickly learn.

This school has been a wonderful tool for rehabilitating my mind and heart to re-fall back in love with learning and integrating music back into my daily life! Thank you soo much Sage Music!

- Google Reviews

Evita C.

Dec. 16, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

It's been so great!

Great instructors and a very welcoming place! I’ve been learning cello here for about a year and it’s been so great!

- Google Reviews

Brandi G.

Dec. 14, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

They teach you in a way that uniquely works for you

I have been taking lessons for a couple of months now, and the things I've learned and the progress I've made is more than I could ask for.

They really know how to teach you in a way that uniquely works for you.

I still struggle with some things, but I have no doubt that my teacher Paul will help me overcome those hurdles soon enough.

- Google Reviews

Ryan B.

Nov. 13, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Five stars

receptive instructors and caring staff

- Google Reviews

Michael G.

Oct. 30, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

My experience so far has been great on so many levels

I began online guitar lessons with Ben as a beginner 6 months ago, and my experience so far has been great on so many levels. In addition to being an extremely skilled guitar player, Ben is a knowledgeable, patient, flexible, and friendly teacher. He provides insightful tips on technique, and if I am struggling with something in particular, he knows exactly what to suggest to make things easier— something I find very valuable.

The Sage music team really cares about their students and frequently asks about ways to improve. The online lesson platform has ended up being very convenient and works surprisingly well— I’ve never had an issue with it. Ben takes detailed notes throughout each lesson, which are all saved for reference and can be accessed at any point. This is one of my favorite features.

Six months ago, I could barely play a single chord on guitar, and now I am playing chord progressions, learning theory, and have begun writing my own simple melodies on guitar— a feat I could have never dreamed of without the help of Ben and Sage Music School.

- Google Reviews

Lori C.

Oct. 27, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

I am thrilled with what I have learned this year

Sage Music is a great school with excellent instructors. Their method is highly engaging and rewarding. I am thrilled with what I have learned this year with Jason on guitar. He is the best! I highly recommend this school to anyone, any age looking to learn music.

- Google Reviews

Franziska A.

Oct. 14, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Thank you for making me love music again

I’ve been taking online singing classes with Paul for over a year now. I look forward to my lesson every week and actually enjoy practicing in between classes.


As a child I’ve always hated music lessons but I'm convinced that I would have loved them at Sage Music. I cannot recommend them enough!!! Thank you for making me love music again.

- Google Reviews

Tammy O.

Oct. 9, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Very skilled, professional, and fun!

We love Sage Music! The teachers have been great; very skilled, professional, and fun! It's an excellent way to bring top-notch music education into your home, even if you're rural.

- Google Reviews

Emily R.

Oct. 3, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

My daughter looked forward to her lesson more than anything else birthday-related

Our kids love their piano lessons and teachers. My daughter (7) had a lesson on her birthday and she was looking forward to the lesson more than anything else birthday-related.

- Google Reviews

Frank D.

Sept. 28, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

I have hit notes in places that I never dreamed of

I’ve been going to Sage Music for a while now. My experience there has been nothing but wonderful, exciting, and laid-back. The staff are amazing people. I am currently working with Paul on my singing vocals. Like all the staff members, he is amazing, understanding, puts you first, and he makes sure that you understand the subject that you’re working on.

Because of him and Sage Music, I have experienced positive things with my singing and I have hit notes in places that I never dreamed of.

To conclude if anybody is looking for a place where they can be themselves, not be judged, and run away from every day hustle and bustle, then I will highly recommend the school for you.

- Google Reviews

David A.

Sept. 23, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Ellos te dan la atención que necesitas

Excelente servicio de parte de todo el personal, siempre con una alegría y amabilidad. El lugar es extremadamente agradable, limpio, fresco, grande y muy bonito.

Tienes tus clases en privado con tu maestro. Cien porciento profesional. Recomiendo a Sage Music para tu superación musical porque ellos te dan la atención que necesitas. Gracias, Sage Music.

- Google Reviews

Jane V.

Aug. 20, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Completely revolutionized the way my son plays the piano

Sage Music has completely revolutionized the way my son plays the piano. Isaiah has opened his eyes to the world of jazz, empowering my 13 year old to play with greater freedom and creativity.

Partnering with his interests and love for certain songs and artists, Isaiah has prepared our son for the next level, able to play now with others and improvise among chords. Isaiah has even invited us to listen to local musicians and bands.

We can’t recommend this conservatory or its talented team enough. Sage Music is truly a special place!

- Google Reviews

Dañia M.

Aug. 14, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

What else can we ask for?

My son was learning the flute at school in band, and we wanted to encourage him to keep playing while he was out during summer break, so we signed him up for Sage Music online classes. He had enjoyed all those lessons and learned how to play John Williams - Star Wars: Duel of the Fates and more.

Later, he decided to pursue learning the piano since he gets to play the flute during band. All the teachers collaborated with him on how to practice and he learned one of our FAVORITE songs, Hans Zimmer - Interstellar: Main Theme on the piano.

All teachers made sure to explore what my son wanted to learn and customize the lessons based from that. They encouraged him to learn more and explore as well on how to practice between lessons. He liked all of them!

- Great Teachers
- Professional Administrators
- Worked with our schedules
- Keeps the Parents involved when needed
- Willing to answer questions and provide suggestions for supplies and sheet music

What else can we ask for?

I recommend anyone who is interested in learning music to sign up at Sage Music! =o)

- Google Reviews

Janet H.

Aug. 9, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

The best music school our kids have ever attended

We moved here from LA recently and needed to find a new piano teacher for our boys. This is the best music school our kids have ever attended.

They love coming to lessons, which are customized to their interest (one is into hip hop and jazz, the other is into 80s music). Our teacher Isaiah is great with the boys and the office is incredibly helpful with scheduling. Can't say enough good things about this place. Also nice place to chill when kids are in lessons.

- Google Reviews

Dennis F.

Aug. 3, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

The only program I've stayed with

Sage Music has been the only program I've stayed with. The live 1:1 video lessons are excellent. My teacher, Mario, has been fantastic in helping and guiding me towards reaching my musical goals in playing the classical guitar. He and the school have taken great care in understanding exactly what I want to get out of the program and go to great lengths to design the program accordingly.

- Google Reviews

David F.

Aug. 2, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Matched to your style of learning

Excellent teachers matched to your style of learning. I feel I progressed at a faster rate due to their instruction.

- Google Reviews

Sam K.

July 23, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

A better sound than I have ever made

I learned flute from Mr. Daniel Flores for about 6 months, and it was great. I had learned flute for a long time when I was a kid, and this was my first time learning it in 10 years. I could pick up my skills quickly and was able to learn the song I wanted to play, with the better sound than I have ever made. Daniel was friendly, not too strict but gave me just enough professional coaches when I needed.

Other than lessons, adjusting schedules or making reservations were also handy once I got used to the website. I recommend it especially when you want to learn something new and develop your skills in details.

- Google Reviews

Rachel G.

July 19, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

I couldn't be more grateful

I had a wonderful experience with Sage Music.

I started during the pandemic and it kept my head a little more sane. Now guitar/music has become a much bigger part of my life and I couldn't be more grateful.

Thank you all for what you do. You have a great program and team. I'll continue to recommend you all to anyone looking for lessons.

- Google Reviews

Todd J.

July 17, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

A great online learning experience

Sage provides a great online learning experience.

I took guitar lessons from Mario - Very professional, highly skilled, patient, and a pleasure getting to know. I would highly recommend to anyone looking to improve their music playing.

- Google Reviews

Rey D.

July 5, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Best music school hands down!

Best music school hands down! Very professional, talented instructors all around! Shout out to Isaiah my piano teacher!

- Google Reviews

Velma M.

July 2, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

The child is their main priority and they want the child to thrive

I'm very pleased with Sage Music School. This school was recommended to me by another Music instructor.

The staff is very accommodating and easy to work with. The child is their main priority and they want the child to thrive. My granddaughter loves to go to class and her instructor, Michael is the best. He has a lot of patience with her and makes sure she understands before moving on.

I am very impressed with the way the school operates.

- Google Reviews

Vanessa V.

June 28, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

The results have been amazing!

My niece is in high school and joined mariachi as a violinist and vocalist. To help her improve on her upcoming solo we enrolled her in voice lessons and the results have been amazing!

Her voice teacher took the time to determine my nieces learning style, and to plan specific goals for her future performances. They also showed up to her recital to see her solo perform, which was super special for my niece and the whole family!

We love Sage Music and would recommend it for anyone looking for music or voice lessons.

- Google Reviews

Nam D.

June 19, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

A very fun and educational experience

This was a very fun and educational experience for me throughout the year.

I have to say, Mr. Mario Quintanilla was a very excellent teacher and he really brought an enjoyable atmosphere during our online lessons. He was able to help me learn the songs I wanted while also keeping it technical and still taught me music theory.

I can see why you guys hired Mario in the first place, amazing guitarist and conductor.

- Google Reviews

Molly C.

June 18, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

It's been amazing!

My daughter and I have both been taking music lessons with Sage for the past ~7months (my daughter takes piano with Jacob, while I take guitar with Mario). The flexibility of scheduling has been amazing - the online dashboard is great, as is the customer service of the admin staff.

The teachers themselves are absolutely phenomenal. Mario has gone above and beyond to understand my specific musical goals and how playing guitar fits into them, even working with me to write the guitar accompaniment to a cover of a song I had conceptualized (which I'm sure hasn't been easy)!

Meanwhile, Jacob somehow has managed to help my highly distractible 8yo get nicely proficient in piano over videoconference - his patience is unbelievable!

Thank you, Sage, for helping us keep music in our lives in this really practical format!

- Google Reviews

Krista V.

June 14, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Customer service is out of this world

The instructors and support staff are incredible. Customer service is out of this world. Compassionate and genuinely interested in the students.

- Google Reviews

Jen O.

June 6, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Truly knows how to work with, inspire, and teach children

My 10 year old son has been with Sage since early in the pandemic, first taking piano lessons with Jacob and now voice with Paul and we absolutely could not be happier! They truly know how to work with, inspire, and teach children.

Initially I was hesitant about online instruction and if it would be effective, but that was put to rest after the first lesson. It's a well oiled machine and it felt as if he was sitting in the same room.

The great progress we've seen is thanks to the perfect blend of instruction, constructive criticism, patience, and time spent getting to know my son to understand how he learns best. His voice has improved tremendously and his confidence has grown with each lesson.

As a mom, I really appreciate the seamless experience and support that Sage offers. From flexible scheduling, periodic check-ins to see how it's going and to learn if there's any room for improvement, and just the general level of professionalism from everyone there. We're thrilled to be part of the Sage family.

- Google Reviews

Shih T.

May 25, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Totally recommend singing lessons!

I have been learning how to sing with Sage music for almost a year now. I am very grateful of my singing teacher Paul who has been both very informative and validating on this hobby that I've decided to work on. Being able to sing or participate in performing music in any way is such a wonderful thing that as human beings we've explored since the stone ages. Totally recommend!

- Google Reviews

Mark D.

May 20, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Top notch music lessons!

Top notch music lessons!

I’m an adult learner and Sage has balanced technique, theory, and practice in a customized program that is far better than any I’ve experienced elsewhere. Jason is extremely knowledgeable and an effective presenter and mentor.

- Google Reviews

Naida S.

May 11, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Well worth the money

This has been the best experience! For a busy adult trying to learn an instrument, the flexibility of Sage Music is perfect.

I have my weekly virtual cello lessons on Sunday afternoon in my living room. My instructor is fantastic at giving me different approaches to learning my instrument and has helped me to obtain my goals that I have set for being able to knowledgeably play the cello within 6 months.

And the price is no more than traditional lessons but with much greater flexibility. Well worth the money!!!

- Google Reviews

John R.

May 6, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Learned a lot in a very short amount of time

I really enjoy my voice lessons with Paul. He has taught me alot in a very short amount of time. I would recommend going here to anyone looking for voice lessons.

- Google Reviews

Kirk C.

May 3, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Studying guitar for the first time and it's been a wonderful experience

I'm 64 years old, studying guitar for the first time. I still work and, as a busy professional, don't have the luxury of having lots of practice time. In other words, I suck at guitar.

My teacher's great! He's going at my pace. He's very patient and impresses as being genuinely interested in helping me achieve my goals. My lessons are fun and informative.

It's been a wonderful experience.

- Google Reviews

Philip C.

May 1, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t be more satisfied

Sage music has helped me learn about music theory and composition for piano. I’ve been working with Isaiah Cosey now for a few months and he’s been a great teacher. Couldn’t be more satisfied with the teaching style - they have really molded the one on one classes to better fit how I learn and they have been flexible with my schedule.

Overall, a great experience.

- Google Reviews

Kyle W.

April 26, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

You will not regret it

Bottomline Up Front:
I highly recommend Sage Music to anyone wanting to learn, improve, or be held accountable to their music practice. You will not regret it. Also, they have a veteran discount on their monthly plan.

# ---

I started guitar lessons with Jason about 2 months ago. I came in with a decent music theory foundation but struggling to play the guitar well. I needed someone to help me stay accountable to my practice to reach my end goal of expressing myself through music.

Jason from Sage Music has been awesome in helping clean up my playing technique to produce beautiful sounds from my guitar without straining anymore! He also helped me find a good guitar after helping me realize that my old pawn shop guitar was damaged (by me) and improper for my style of music (classical vs. acoustic). Following his instruction and recommendations has been challenging at first [because of me], but I have only gotten better by trusting him.

My improvements in playing have yielded to the point to where I wrote my first microsong this past weekend (and I really like my song too!). We are also currently working through a Johnny Cash classic to help reinforce the techniques and lessons.

The Sage Music website deserves a lot of praise in that it shows all the scheduling and practice notes/goals. Most tasks (rescheduling, payment updates, etc.) are handled easily through the website via tickets. Jason and others also maintain blog posts that have been helpful for understanding or reviewing other concepts like the anatomy of a guitar, how to properly hold the guitar or pick, etc. My previous experience of lessons from childhood in no way match the quality and organization of Sage Music.

Some days I almost do not believe we have such a solid music school here in San Antonio.

- Google Reviews

Amina A.

April 23, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Lesson plans that fit my interests

I have piano lessons with Joel. He has so much patience for me! He listens to my learning needs and designs lesson plans that fit best with my interests. I really appreciate Joel and his style of teaching.

- Google Reviews

Natasha S.

April 10, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

I've really enjoyed the experience

I've been taking piano lessons in-person with Isaiah and have really enjoyed the experience and the progress I've made. Classes are flexible and drill down on specific areas that you in particular are interested in exploring; for me that's been a mix of music theory, composition, and fluency. Isaiah is very knowledgeable, passionate about music, adept at suggesting new ways to approach or improve a song, and just great to work with.

Everyone at Sage is friendly and Evie particularly been very helpful with answering questions and handling scheduling issues.

- Google Reviews

Mayerlyn S.

April 3, 2023

2 out of 5 stars

The teacher is good but their cancellation policy

The teacher is good, but their cancelation policy is something to be carefull. i spoke with jason about just needing a month of clases in order to prepare my son for his audition, but when register to log in into their wedside they put me in a membership which was charge one more month and never refund or give credit of it. almost $500 lost just because they thought i wanted more time. no fair

Response from the owner

Thank you for your feedback, Mayerlyn. We strive to ensure that everyone has a positive experience with us.

When you registered with us, we made sure that the policies were clear - as we do with all students - by going over the cancellation policy with you on the phone, and having you sign the policy before you made payment. You signed the agreement on October 24th, 2022 when you registered with us.

In addition to the signed policies, a link to our policy is on our payment form, on every invoice that we sent you, and it is also publicly available on our website at https://www.sagemusic.co/policies/. Every payment receipt you received also has a reminder about the cancellation policy.

Because we booked our teacher’s time for your lessons, we do have to pay our teacher for that time - otherwise, we wouldn’t be able to keep such great teachers around. This is why we have the cancellation policy.

We do understand you disputed the credit card charge for December’s lessons, even though your son did take lessons with us on December 4th and Dec 7th. In the end, your bank did agree with us that the charge was valid and that you did not cancel in advance as you had agreed to do. That is why your bank settled the dispute in our favor.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we wish you the best.

- Google Reviews

Yvette P.

March 22, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

I would recommend them to anyone!!

Love this place!! They have helped my daughters voice sound so much better. They are professional at what they do. Very caring about their students!!! I would recommend them to anyone!!

- Google Reviews

Isabelle M.

March 16, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

The perfect platform to learn

I had a fantastic experience with sage music. I found the class structure suited to my abilities. It was a very easy, convenient process with Sage staff online to get started, communication, and all the way through. It was a fantastic learning experience, and Sage was the perfect platform to learn.

- Google Reviews

Rhonda A.

Feb. 4, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

My online lessons are fun and informative

I'm a beginner adult violin student. Sage has been really flexible and accommodating. All the staff are very excited about the future of Sage and their enthusiasm rubs off on the students.

Most of my lessons are online as I live in Australia, but I had an opportunity to see the San Antonio school in person. All the new renovations provide an inspirational space for learning.

My lessons with Michael are fun and informative. He's great on strings and I hope he goes busking to spread his good vibe. 🎻 🎻

- Google Reviews

Meagan G.

Feb. 2, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

My son's teacher really lit a fire within him

Piano lessons with Miss Christine have been great. My son learns differently, and when one thing didn’t work, she was able to switch gears and find what really lit a fire within him. She didn’t expect him to fit into a mold, it was much more about bringing the joy of music to him.

He has fallen in love with it to the point where I do not ever have to encourage him to practice. He approaches the piano to practice and explore it often.

I also like that this music school has multiple instruments available, so if my son wants to expand his horizons and try new instruments, I don’t have to start the teacher search all over. I can just let the school know and they will set it up for me.

- Google Reviews

Olivia H.

Jan. 30, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

I learn so much every lesson

I have taken guitar lessons with Sage since 2021 and I have really enjoyed them! My instructor, Mario, is AMAZING!! He's a great teacher. I learn so much every lesson. He even helped me put together a song for my fiancé!

I could not recommend Mario and Sage Music enough!

- Google Reviews

Maria V.

Jan. 7, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

You won't get results like this anywhere else

Sage has the highest quality of music lessons, period. They teach on their own scientifically-backed learning system so their lessons can't be substituted with YouTube or any other pre-made instruction tool which is rare in music schools.

Everything is tailored to you (time, teacher, focus of lesson) so you're never stuck learning what you don't need to know. I loved that! That's exactly how all schooling should be!

You also get your teacher's expert, undivided attention during your lesson which makes a HUGE difference in progress week-to-week! Join if you really want to see results. Worth every penny because you won't get results this great anywhere else.

- Google Reviews

Fred C.

Jan. 7, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

I learned how to “learn”

Ben is a talented guitarist, and an outstanding teacher. He is very helpful and insightful; I learned a lot about how to “learn” to play the guitar!

- Google Reviews

Jaimi Mueller

Jan. 3, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

So much growth in both my kids!

Mario is a phenomenal teacher. Both of my boys have been in lessons about 2 months and I have seen so much growth.

He does great with both of them (six years old and ten years old). He’s great at pushing them but not making them feel bad for not practicing or life getting busy.

We love Mario.

- Google Reviews

Miles Dobbin

Jan. 2, 2023

5 out of 5 stars

Music theory here was fun

Isaiah is an excellent instructor. He’s able to make music theory palatable and fun to learn.

- Google Reviews

Aysun Alagoz

Dec. 25, 2022

5 out of 5 stars

I would highly recommend signing up for piano lessons

I really enjoy my piano classes with my instructor Paul. Everyone at Sage Music is very friendly and I would highly recommend signing up for music lessons with Sage Music School.

- Google Reviews

Ryan St. Martin

Nov. 30, 2022

5 out of 5 stars

Online learning might seem impossible but Sage makes it work well

I'm extremely grateful for my time at Sage Music with Jacob Silver. Sage itself is a wonderful music school.

I started taking lessons in person at the Queens location. When the pandemic hit, Sage made a smooth transition to online learning. I didn't feel like I missed a beat with my lessons.

Their online infrastructure has only grown since then, and they've worked to make the experience more enjoyable and streamlined. Online learning might seem impossible with something like learning an instrument. But Sage makes it work, and they make it work well.

My teacher, Jacob, helped me explore music in ways I wasn't even imagining when first starting at Sage. He always wanted to make sure that I was getting the most out of my lessons and worked to cater each lesson to what best suited my needs. We worked on technique, music theory, composition, and a lot more. Jacob was always patient and friendly as we worked through material. I'm grateful for the wealth of knowledge he shared with me weekly.

I have a much larger appreciation for piano playing and, more importantly, music thanks to him.

- Google Reviews

Collen Turk

March 17, 2022

5 out of 5 stars

Just the right blend of support, encouragement, play, and challenge

Brian has been a fantastic drum teacher for my son.

He provides just the right blend of support, encouragement, play, and challenge my son needs. His dedication to music and childhood education has been apparent in every lesson.

I’m so grateful for the positive influence Brian has had on my son’s musical skills and on his skills as a student in general.

- Google Reviews

Mark Rosen

Jan. 15, 2022

5 out of 5 stars

Surprised and thrilled with the progress I’m making

I’m a beginning, grey-haired, adult saxophone student who has been studying the past several months with Michael Conklin at the Sage Music School.

I am surprised and thrilled with the progress I’m making learning to play my alto sax.

I worried that it would take me forever to decode the dots and squiggles on a piece of sheet music. Well, thanks to Michael’s guidance, teaching, and encouragement I’m not only reading music, but I’m also playing the correct notes on the saxophone!

Currently we meet over Google Meet which has been so convenient the past many months. In each lesson I work with Michael on building my skills, understanding a bit about music theory as is applies to my lessons, and working on tunes or riffs that let me practice those new skills and learning.

I don’t feel at all pressured in my lessons. I see Michael as my saxophone learning consultant!

Here’s a good example of how Michael’s teaching methodology works well for me: I sent him an audio clip of a George Coleman riff. I asked Michael if this was something that at my beginning level I could learn. During my lesson, Michael flawlessly played the riff.

He responded “Yes, Mark, you can play it. The riff is in the key of A, it starts with an E, but all of the notes in the riff are not in the key of A. So have at it and we’ll review at your next lesson.”

And sure enough, over the next few days, I figured out the riff. It was such as feeling of accomplishment.

And Michael set it up so that I could succeed!

In all, I’m very happy with the Sage Music School, my teacher, and the school’s administrative team.

- Google Reviews

Justin Bennet

Sept. 13, 2021

5 out of 5 stars

I highly recommend to piano players at all levels of experience!

Amazing experience taking piano lessons with Sage Music School.

Jacob Silver (my teacher) has introduced to me many gems of knowledge to improve my playing. I stopped taking lessons about 20 years ago but still played piano, and I’m so glad that I decided to start actual lessons again with Sage Music.

I highly recommend to piano players at all levels of experience! Sage is the needed tool to help me meet my current piano playing goals.

- Google Reviews

Lisa Ramjattan

April 13, 2021

5 out of 5 stars

I pick up the violin and I play and feel as if I have been doing it for years

I started with Sage in December close to the end of the year and my experience has simply been amazing.

As a foreign student without a music background and who barely touched a violin before December, my experience has been mesmerizing. We are now in April and I know the basics of the violin, I can read basic music sheets, I do not need tapes for my fingers. I pick up the violin and I play and I feel as if I have been doing it for years.

My teacher Jeremy is the best. He is so youthful and energetic and very encouraging. He applauds my efforts and he never makes me feel down even when I am hard on myself. He is very professional and very frank in my view but he says the right things to get you back right where you should be. I owe my progress wholly to him.

My whole experience from the beginning with getting me set up was so effortless.

Every week I am so focused on getting ready for class. It is never a drag it is always effortless. I really appreciate the progress I made thus far and I look forward to a greater future with Sage and Jeremy as my teacher/ guide. His Jeremy tips as I call it are very useful and always on point.

Thank you Sage, Jeremy, and the team for making one of my dreams come through in a very short space of time. Did I mention this was all done online! Hats off to Sage Music School.

- Google Reviews

Richard Miller

Dec. 17, 2020

5 out of 5 stars

Patient, pertinent explanations and hands on illustrations - I am advancing

While my relationship with Sage is not long lived so far, I have found all the staff to be supportive and talented in their own right.

My teacher, Michael Conklin, has been great. I had specific goals in mind and he is a skilled enough teacher to not only understand my intentions in seeking instruction, but to be able to provide patient, pertinent explanations and hands on illustrations in both theoretical and in the mechanics of playing the sax.

I am advancing and I thank Michael for helping me to do so.

- Google Reviews

Liz Thomas

Oct. 18, 2020

5 out of 5 stars

Sage Music has my highest recommendation to anyone thinking of beginning or advancing their music studies

Sage Music is a very special place, and they have my highest recommendation to anyone thinking of beginning or advancing their music studies.

I started taking piano lessons last year as a total adult beginner with no reference point or prior knowledge, and I’m amazed at how far I’ve come and how much joy the lessons have added to my life.

My brilliant and patient instructor, Jacob, has always been interested in how I learn best as an individual, and the Sage approach overall combines proven learning techniques with a warm and highly personalized teaching approach.

The entire team is wonderful to work with, professional, and responsive. I’m so glad I began lessons and look forward to continuing with Sage as I develop these skills.

- Google Reviews

Neshemah I.

Sept. 27, 2020

5 out of 5 stars

Really listens to their students

I’m really happy that I found Sage Music and my AMAZING music instructor Michael Conklin!

I recently decided to take the leap to learn the saxophone after playing the flute for about 20 years, and I was super nervous that my music skills wouldn’t cross over after taking a long break from music.

But my music instructor, Michael, has made my return back to music, and on a new instrument so incredible. He has a great way of relating with his students, and helping them feel comfortable along the way, which has been really helpful for me as I’m learning the saxophone.

We cover everything from breathing techniques to proper embouchure that will help provide a strong, solid sound on the saxophone. And he even connects things that I’m more familiar with as a flute player back to the saxophone which helps me grasp the saxophone material.

And perhaps one of the things I deeply value about my lessons with Michael is the fact that he really listens to his students. He really tries to understand your interest in music, and the type of music that inspires you so that he can develop a lesson plan to help you reach that personal goal.

If you’re interested in music lessons, definitely check out Michael… he really is an awesome instructor!

- Google Reviews

Jonathan Lynch

June 20, 2020

5 out of 5 stars

Exactly how you would design school as a kid if you could

The best way to describe this school in my opinion would be “exactly how you would design school as a kid if you could”.

In other words I heavily admire that they allow me to bring them my goals and they lead me there directly. Not through a maze of confusion and customs but for me I’m being taken straight to what I imagined when I pictured myself as a cellist.

The instructor is very intuitive and she also has a very good eye for what can be improved on. I’m sure it sounds like a common trait of a music teacher but her level of skill as a cellist paired with the solid structure of the school leads me to learn excessively quick.

And I heard elsewhere that it’s supposed to be hard as an adult beginner. I’m not sure if that’s true or not but I actually look forward to my weekly lessons and I’m sure I always will.

Oh and I forgot to mention all of this has been happening through video chat due to covid. The fact that I’ve seen as much progress as I have from my apartment is amazing.

Not to mention they gave me two other free classes that help me take it what I’m taught. I couldn’t really say enough.

- Google Reviews

Elliot Hasdan

May 23, 2020

5 out of 5 stars

a really unique way of teaching - fantastic and customized to my goals

I’ve been a guitar student of Matt’s at Sage Music for about a year, and I’m excited about my progress.

The teaching methods are fantastic, the lessons are very customized to my goals, and it’s been great to understand the theory behind the music I enjoy and exactly what makes it interesting.

I came into the lessons simply wanting to rekindle and old hobby, but I’m very thrilled with my newfound ability to play with stronger technique, more intention, and to be able to improvise along with other musicians in the group classes.

The lessons and teaching methods at Sage are very structured and meant to create progress, and to help students get more substance and more enjoyment out of individual practice sessions outside of the lesson. It’s a really unique way of teaching.

I’d highly recommend taking a class!

- Google Reviews

Sebastien S

April 15, 2020

5 out of 5 stars

No difficulties online, it went as great as if it was in person

I want to take a minute and give my personal experience at Sage Music.

As student its important to get the best training possible to be able to get all tools needed in order to achive each goal.

I’m in singing class and I want to thank Elisabeth Shoup for being such a GREAT teacher. Her level of professionalism goes above and beyond.

As many of you know the world’s going to a crisis right now with this Pandemic that forced all schools and many other businesses to close. Sage Music continued with its online class and I enjoyed it a lot.

I didn’t have any difficulties online and it went as great as if it was in person.

Thank you.

- Google Reviews

Michelle Castillo

Feb. 23, 2020

5 out of 5 stars

We couldn’t be happier with our daughter’s progress

My daughter started playing the flute in her elementary school band and asked for private lessons.

She started taking flute lessons with Michael about a year ago and has loved every lesson.

Michael has nurtured her curiosity about music and has invited her to choose music that she loves – Broadway showtunes! She is even now sharing her skills with her band teacher at school that she learned with Michael.

Sage Music is super professional, organized and we couldn’t be happier with our daughter’s progress. I highly recommend!

- Google Reviews

John Vaccaro

Feb. 3, 2020

5 out of 5 stars

Highly recommend Sage Music, my playing skills are consistently improving

Started taking piano lessons in 2019. Sage is very professional organization and extremely responsive. They meet with you before you start the lessons to determine what your music goals are and to help develop a plan for success. I have been very happy working with my teacher Jacob Silver.

Jacob has supported my goals by providing valuable insight, guidance and tools. After every session he provides music lesson notes and agreed upon practice routines. When I have a question I can send him an email and I always get a quick response.

My playing skills are consistently improving. I highly recommend Sage Music.

- Google Reviews

Natalie Mendo

Jan. 29, 2020

5 out of 5 stars

I highly recommend this school for anyone who has the desire to learn to play an instrument

I have taken piano lessons for approximately three months with Jacob.

During this time, Jacob has taught me with great patience and kindness. He is very understanding of your needs, and I can assure you that he is extremely knowledgeable in piano music. Jacob makes you feel comfortable during your lessons and know that neither him or any other staff members will pass judgment on your abilities.

I can only say positive things about the staff.

Everyone has been super kind and they will always give you a warm welcome. I highly recommend this school for anyone who has the desire to learn to play an instrument.

Thank you for all of your support!

- Google Reviews

Neal Yaffe

Jan. 12, 2020

5 out of 5 stars

They create a plan that works for you and use the best methods to keep you on track

I have really enjoyed my experience at Sage Music and look forward to continuing learning the clarinet there!

Veronica in the office has been great, accessible, and makes it very easy to schedule lessons and create a plan that works for you.

Michael has been a really awesome teacher! He is very talented and really takes the time to figure out the best methods to keep you on track and getting to the next level each lesson!

All in all, I would highly recommend this studio for a great experience!

- Google Reviews

Ken Gill

Dec. 15, 2019

5 out of 5 stars

The right place for real growth in my violin playing

After studying violin for two years with another teacher who gave birth to twins and could no longer give private lessons, I had my first violin lesson via Skype with Jeremy Roberts today and it went very well.

I felt very comfortable with him and his style of teaching left me feeling encouraged and with the sense that I have come to the right place for real growth in my violin playing.

I’m excited and looking forward to my next lesson. Now it’s time to enjoy and get to work on my homework. Perfect practice makes perfect with Sage.

- Google Reviews

Matthew Opanowski

Nov. 17, 2019

5 out of 5 stars

I’m starting to LOVE playing guitar

I ‘taught’ myself guitar in high school over 16 years ago and even though I was able to work up the skills to play some pleasant sounds, I always felt this barrier and level of doubt kept me from truly enjoying the act of playing and expressing myself. Basic music theory made sense on a superficial level, but true understanding and the ability to apply it in my playing often felt out very of reach.

I am now closing in on my first full year of weekly guitar lessons with Matt Kaplan and while it is remains clear I have a lot left to learn, it is significantly less daunting and discouraging.

Things have finally started falling into place and the “language of music” comes more naturally the more I practice and “eat my (arpeggio) veggies.”

With increasing frequency I find myself picking up my guitar, getting lost in my playing, and realizing 30, 45, 60+ minutes have passed by. I am actually starting to LOVE playing guitar instead of feeling defeated by what I can’t do or don’t know.

- Google Reviews

Weiru K

Nov. 2, 2019

5 out of 5 stars

I’m happy with the customized lessons

Sage Music puts efforts to know my goal and makes sure I am happy with the customized lessons.

I enjoy every voice lesson with Christina. Time always flew by so quickly while we were focusing on the voice and the songs. I felt great and refreshed after each class.

I am really grateful that Christina Christofi is my instructor, who is very nice and has a warm personality.

- Yelp Reviews

Christian Bermudez

Sept. 7, 2019

5 out of 5 stars

the wisest choice I have made for learning guitar

For learning classical guitar, this was one of the wisest choices I have made.

Matt Kaplan is a fantastic teacher at Sage Music and he is to be recommend to anyone of any age.

I started at 44 and have gotten very good at playing in almost 3 years. You can indeed teach an old dog new tricks.

The staff is very friendly and make you feel like you are part of the family.

- Google Reviews

Mirona V

Sept. 4, 2019

5 out of 5 stars

Great music school.

Great music school.

My seven year old daughter started taking piano lessons with Jacob and she love it.

Progressive teaching method, goal oriented, affordable and flexible scheduling. I’m very happy I came across Sage.

- Yelp Reviews

Panagiotis Zagaliotis

July 18, 2019

5 out of 5 stars

If there was a higher than 5 stars rating I could give, I would!

Elisabeth is an amazing voice teacher! She has helped me improve my voice both in terms of volume and of how clear it comes out within 3 lessons, not even kidding!

She is great at helping you visualize how your voice should come out and be positioned correctly.

By all means, if there was a higher than 5 stars rating I could give to Elisabeth and to Sage, I would!

- Google Reviews

Kate Bendrick

June 20, 2019

5 out of 5 stars

an experience I can only recommend wholeheartedly

Sage music teachers are highly qualified, kind, and unbelievably helpful. Not only does Matt, my classical guitar teacher, offer extremely helpful feedback during lessons, he also listens to audio clips I make during the week and answers questions between lessons. His generosity and commitment to his students is unwavering.

Not only is there the opportunity to participate in recitals, but also in open mic nights, where the ambiance is relaxed and less intimidating.

Veronica, who manages the business side, is professional and friendly, and makes time before your lesson starts feel like free time with friends. Not to mention the occasional appearance of Jason’s dog, Bijou, who can’t help but make you feel at home!

The combination of elite level instruction and warmth is really unique, and is an experience I can only recommend wholeheartedly.

- Google Reviews

Rosa Jacquez

Feb. 27, 2019

5 out of 5 stars

My daughter Mia has attended other music schools but none as professional as Sage!

I love Sage! My daughter Mia has attended other music schools but none as professional as Sage!

The instructors are wonderful and inspire the students to learn and practice.

Mia takes vocal and Ukelele classes and absolutely loves it! She has been a student at Sage for almost 3 years and will continue to take classes and participate in their wonderful recitals!

- Google Reviews

Gabby Fontes

Feb. 13, 2019

5 out of 5 stars

more confidence and ability to perform

In the amount of time that I have been a voice student at Sage Music, I have noticed a significant amount of growth within the past 6 months.

My teacher Olivia Smith is an incredible voice instructor & I can now say I have more confidence and ability to perform in front of a live audience.

I recommend to anyone wanting to learn and master an instrument/voice. Sage Music is the place to be!

- Google Reviews

Glenna Dilone (for son Mason Dilone)

Feb. 10, 2019

5 out of 5 stars

I made dramatic progress in just 5 months and I am doing excellent amongst my very experienced saxophone classmates

I am so happy I found Sage Music.

I am taking private Saxophone lessons at their Greenpoint and LIC locations with Michael Conklin.

I am band student in the high level program at IS318. I had switched from percussion to Saxophone this past Fall. With Michael’s help I was able to make dramatic progress in just 5 months and I am doing excellent amongst my very experienced saxophone classmates.

Michael is fun, patient and serious at the same time. Sage is a very professional Music School. I highly recommend it!

- Google Reviews

Tzemach G

Feb. 10, 2019

5 out of 5 stars

so much progress

I really appreciate the step by step approach at sage music. I also especially like the way the focus is on your personal goals.

I’ve been at sage music for just about three months and already see so much progress and feel more focused.

Thank you Michael Conklin for teaching me, guiding me, and caring for my success.

- Google Reviews

Fred Lee

Jan. 27, 2019

5 out of 5 stars

No matter how stuck and discouraged you may be, Sage Music will be there for you and will help you and they will succeed

Can hardly believe it’s already been 1 year since I started taking guitar lessons in Sage Music, and I can say all the progress, support and benefits that the Sage Music and the awesome faculty has provided me with can be scarcely overstated.

With a goal to become an approachable art teacher to my own group of students, break a stereotypical view that I have towards myself (not-born-for-music) due to all the trouble I’ve gone through with all the musical instruments I tried in the past and develop a life-long hobby/profession, I discovered Sage Music to help me with my great mission.

As a fresh new beginner with zero guitar experience who was in need of a professional’s guidance, every lesson and session I took since day 1, I’ve witnessed and experienced my instructor’s(Matt Kaplan) professionalism, passion and willingness to do the best for his students in every way possible.

No matter how stuck and discouraged you maybe, Sage Music will be there for you and will help you and they will succeed. When you are packed with overwhelming passion to learn and/or get musical therapy to soothe, spice up yourself and your life style and step up to a new level but not sure where to seek the right people, Sage Music is the one for you.

- Google Reviews

Alexandre Ikama

Jan. 20, 2019

5 out of 5 stars

My playing has drastically improved

I’ve been taking clarinet lessons at Sage Music for almost three years.

My playing has drastically improved over this time and as a result I’ve been successful in auditioning for NYC All City High School Concert Band and Summer Arts Institute run by NYC Department of Education.

The woodwind teacher, Michael Conklin, has been a great partner in this process. The staff and teachers have always been very welcoming and supportive. Congratulations to Sage on their expansion into a much bigger space.

- Google Reviews

David Lucas

Dec. 18, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

I was behind the kit, holding down a beat. It was amazing!

I studied drums at Sage Music with Brian Reynolds earlier this year. The very first day, Brian asked, “What are your goals?” — by the end of the first practice I was behind the kit, holding down a beat. It was amazing! He picked up a guitar, and we were jamming AC/DC “Back in Black” Just like that!

Brian is an excellent teacher. He’s a good listener, he didn’t try to persuade me, he taught me exactly what I was hoping to learn which I really appreciate. He’s an excellent communicator, patient, and superb musician.

Lessons were fun, we shared music, and inspired one another.

I would definitely recommend Brian if you’re interested in learning to play the drums!

- Google Reviews

Lynn Levy

Dec. 6, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

Highly recommend! They will go the extra mile to see their students succeed

I am so impressed with Sage Music – this school has it down! I feel like I have a family there, taking such good care of me…they create an unusual container that I’ve never experienced in any type of school before.

The support and encouragement is so genuine, they really, really care for their students and will go the extra mile to see them succeed and make progress.

My guitar teacher, Matt, invited me to participate in the next open mic and kindly offered to accompany me for my song.

Highly recommend!

- Google Reviews

Melanie Lopez

Nov. 12, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

a great opportunity to express myself

I am in singing class and it is a great opportunity to express myself. I love doing studio classes and I really hope we do them with duets!

- Google Reviews

Shiheng Wang

Oct. 30, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

The focus is on me - based on my personal interests using proven learning methods

It’s a really good play to start with a new instrument!

The teacher there is very professional and supportive, and he taught me based on both my personal interest (music styles, focus of what I’d like to practice, skill, emotion expression, etc) as well as standard learning procedure (cannot learn too much within too short period).

Also, I believe that the school has good documentation of each student’s progress to manage every student’s learning, and my teacher always encouraged a lot in every class.

One more thing, they have instrument for rent, which is good for someone who’s not sure if they wanna spent a thousand dollars on a big instrument such as a cello.

- Google Reviews

Steven Silva

Oct. 29, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

blown away by the quality of my lessons, the pedagogy and the warm, friendly faculty!

Looking for a place to get lessons and get the added benefit of being part of a musical community? Then Sage is the best!

I needed cello lessons and check out this local music school and have been blown away by the quality of my lessons, the pedagogy and the warm, friendly faculty!

They have done everything to make this beginner feel like a musician and my playing has never been better! Highly recommended!

- Google Reviews

Prasanna V

Sept. 17, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

The instructors at Sage were brilliant and helped me achieve exactly what I was trying to achieve

I took violin classes at Sage. I am a beginner and was looking to get some good introduction / basics right from the start that would help me in the long run.

The instructors at Sage were brilliant and helped me achieve exactly what i was looking for.

Nick and Angela were amazing. They went above and beyond to make sure that I was comfortable and paced the lessons at the speed I needed.

I recommend Sage to everyone, beginners or for people looking to improve their skills. Thank you Nick and Angela!

- Yelp Reviews

Alexandra Masciotti

Aug. 15, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

Instructors were responsive to my learning style, and have provided individualized feedback / instruction

I am taking violin lessons here after putting the instrument down 30 years ago.

Having worked with two instructors (Angela and Nick) I found both were equally responsive to my learning style, and have provided individualized feedback / instruction which happens to generate great momentum for practice in between lessons. Very pragmatic manner of instruction, gives me a sense of mastery over technique which really propels my desire to study and practice.

Bonus with new studio space: regular presence of a very friendly dog. Highly recommend.

- Google Reviews

Kimberly Singh

Aug. 6, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

My instructor has really elevated me as an actor and performer and Sage is so accommodating with my hectic schedule

I had always wanted to learn to sing on a highly skilled level but was terrified of performing songs in front of a crowd and had no confidence in my vocal abilities.

After working with [my teacher] she has really elevated me as an actor and performer and is so accommodating with my hectic schedule.

The director Veronica is also awesome and friendly and does a great job at creating a warm and supportive environment for growing artists.

An extra bonus is that it’s very affordable.

- Google Reviews

Geoffrey Krawczyk

Aug. 4, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

We really can’t say enough good things about Sage- not only are they affordable, but they go the extra mile to accommodate our hectic schedule

We really can’t say enough good things about Sage. Not only are they affordable, but they go the extra mile to accommodate our ever-changing and hectic schedule.


I also want to give a special shout to Julian, our instructor. He is so patient and so kind with our 4-year-old. No matter how fidgety he gets, Julian is able to steer him back on track. And he has really tailored the lessons to our son’s interests. He’s an outstanding music teacher!


We tried a few other piano schools before this one but felt immediately comfortable at Sage. Even if you’re not in LIC, it’s worth the train ride!

- Google Reviews

Derek Lytle

Aug. 2, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

Great local concerts, a overall great experience.

Great local concerts, an overall great experience.

- Google Reviews

Rachel B

July 2, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

friendly and inviting

I’ve taken violin lessons here for a month now. In that time I’ve learned a lot and truly have started to play music and not just rhythmically scrape at my violin.

My boyfriend and dog are overjoyed and continue to encourage me to attend lessons here. Angela has the patience of a saint and the weird lady who works the desk is pretty cool too.

All in all I highly recommend Sage Music as an adult beginner. People are nice, the pricing is extremely fair for how much you learn, and the environment is friendly and inviting.

- Yelp Reviews

Emily Woisin

July 2, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

Would highly recommend Sage Music to anyone… they really meet you where you’re at

Such an incredible experience.

Would highly recommend Sage Music to anyone – whether you are picking up an instrument for the first time, or just looking to improve your practice in a specific area, Sage Music really meets you where you’re at.

Matt is an INCREDIBLE guitar teacher and only have amazing things to say!

- Google Reviews

Mario Egocheaga

June 25, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

I would recommend to any aspiring musician to give these lessons a try - it’s worth every single penny.

The teacher that I was assigned was amazing at teaching me what I believe are the best ways to play the guitar.

They’ve been teaching me technique and a bit of reading music to further expand this new hobby that I fell in love with and made it grew immensely.

Honestly I would recommend to any aspiring musician to give these lessons a try. Worth every single penny.

- Google Reviews

Giselle

June 15, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

helped create a new piano player the Autism community

My son has attended sage for three years and has been able to overcome his cognitive deficits and learn the piano with the supportive staff of Sage Music.

Thank you to the hard work of the director, manager, and staff. They have helped create a new piano player the Autism community.

- Google Reviews

Tamara Anderson

June 5, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

The only music lessons I’ve ever stuck with. Five stars!

I have had a fantastic experience with Sage Music.

The organization is efficient, professional, personable and convenient, with many thanks to Veronica. The recitals give the studio a great community vibe.

My piano teacher Nicole is fantastic and has me feeling like a super piano virtuoso even as a beginner. Her lessons mix theory and practical skills and are always challenging, entertaining and keep me on track.

The only music lessons I’ve ever stuck with. Five stars!

- Google Reviews

Tara Rawal

May 27, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

THE MOST CHARMING PLACE

THE MOST CHARMING PLACE

- Google Reviews

Rick Franco

May 23, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing teachers - they are patient and knowledgeable

Amazing teachers! They are patient and knowledgeable. Highly recommended!👍

- Google Reviews

VRL NYC

May 16, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

OUTSTANDING

OUTSTANDING

- Google Reviews

A T

April 16, 2018

1 out of 5 stars

Dissatisfied with policies (Owner Response)

I wanted to take a trial lesson to see whether my kid would be interested in taking lessons here.

According to the website, they recommend calling them before buying an instrument so they can guide you or rent one from them. When we called, they recommended reserving a trial lesson spot and they did not have the instrument my child wanted to play and the only option was a “rent to buy” option which was almost twice what I wanted to pay so the next morning I decided to cancel the trial lesson until I can find a cheaper instrument.

That’s when I was told that they would not refund my deposit because it was against their policy. What policy!? I never signed an agreement or was told about this “policy”! It was a verbal agreement and less than 12 hrs old!

I called again the day after that and they said thehey would look into not charging me but they still charged my credit card! I would NEVER go to this place because of their shoddy business practices and they have just lost a customer because they are greedy scammers that make up their own rules without even informing potential customers. They are so quick to call you back and try to get you to agree to taking a trial lesson but then when there is a problem they are remarkably unavailable.

I do NOT recommend this place because they do not have any integrity!

I was never contacted by phone and only through email in response to this review. My husband was never told the policy until we asked for our deposit. In addition I called to cancel LESS than 24 hrs later and was told no way. I understand if this was a day before the lesson but this was OVER a week in advance before the trial lesson. Even doctors allow for cancellations with that amount of time! Children get sick, lose interest, etc. This kind of over the top policy seems ridiculous.

Owners Response:

Hi Anna,

We are always available for our students, including you.

Over the last weeks, we’ve made several attempts to reach you to reach you by phone, email, and direct message here on yelp.

We do everything above board at Sage Music and don’t hide the policies from anyone. They are publicly posted at sagemusic.co/policies and are linked on your invoice.  Our registration software doesn’t allow our staff to take payment until the policies have been read. When your husband registered your son, he was read the policies and also verbally agreed to them.

Perhaps there is some misunderstanding because your husband did the registration? We do not have a rent to buy option, and we do not take deposits. All lessons are paid in advance at the time of purchase.

Once we book a lesson, we are obligated to pay our teachers for the scheduled time. This is why the no lesson refunds policy exists. We have great teachers at our school, and we can only keep these great teachers around by protecting their time. If we didn’t do so, then we wouldn’t have such a great school full of top notch teachers and such otherwise awesome reviews!

We made every effort to reschedule the lesson for you at a more convenient time. We also offered to help you find a less costly instrument for your son elsewhere. I’m not sure what else we could have done for you. If there is something we missed, please do let me know.

Also, I have gone through our records, and see that you did contact us from the form on our website FAQ page which lists our policies sagemusic.co/faqs

If you would get back to us, we’d be happy to personally address your concerns as best we can. Looking forward to speaking with you.

- Yelp Reviews

Gonzo G

March 21, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

I learned so much in my first lesson!

My first lesson was great!

I am 34 and decided I wanted to learn how to play the guitar. I have zero background in music other than what I listen to on Spotify.

Matt, my teacher, immediately started to show me correct form, from how to hold the pick and where my thumb should be on the pick to where my hand should be after a strum.

I learned so much in my first lesson!

- Yelp Reviews

Allyson Corally P

Feb. 5, 2018

5 out of 5 stars

They do a great job at really working with your strengths and helping you with weaknesses

When I first started considering singing lessons, I was genuinely scared. I’m not musically trained and I don’t read music.

But I was so happily surprised when I joined Sage. They do a great job at gauging where you are when it comes to music and really working with your strengths and helping you with weaknesses.

I had both Olivia and DJ and I always looked forward to my lessons. Olivia even started showing me how to read music!

I can’t wait to re-enroll with Sage because they do a great job at setting up an environment you can learn in and they really take into consideration what your goals are!

- Yelp Reviews

Camille Prado

Oct. 17, 2017

4 out of 5 stars

I’ve lost any possible excuse I could have had to not practice

It was a great workshop.

I’d heard some of the advice before from Jason but this was more thorough than what you have time to discuss during a lesson.

Some adjustments are easy to make so it doesn’t take a huge effort (be aware of how focused you are, stop practicing when you’re losing your concentration, frequency is effective, even if you only practice for a 3 minutes at a time…).

My one complaint is that I’ve lost any possible excuse I could have had to not practice.

- Sage Reviews

Michael Reichenberg

Oct. 11, 2017

5 out of 5 stars

Taught me some great techniques

Great workshop! Taught me some great techniques and the science behind why they actually work. Allowed me to objectively look at my practice sessions and figure out where and how I can improve them and advance faster. Jason’s a great teacher and makes everything fun and easy to understand.

- Sage Reviews

Tallie G

Oct. 10, 2017

5 out of 5 stars

game-changing practice techniques into easy, understandable terms

This class was so helpful in redefining and reshaping my practice routines. Jason put game-changing practice techniques into easy, understandable terms that made my practice habits more efficient and thorough. I know how to get the most out of my practice time, a skill that feels invaluable!

- Sage Reviews

Brian W

March 14, 2017

5 out of 5 stars

Sage is highly professional with the truly admirable goal of helping musicians of all ages and skill levels become better and more productive

I’ve had the pleasure of working with Jason on a piano project a little while ago, and he was great start to finish.

I’ve attended a concert at the school and met some of the teachers, and everything I have seen about Sage is highly professional, with the truly admirable goal of helping musicians of all ages and skill levels become better and more productive.

Give Jason a call, you won’t regret it! Highly recommended!

- Yelp Reviews

Justin Berhang

Aug. 11, 2016

5 out of 5 stars

It’s been a great 2 years at Sage Music

Aleks is a great teacher and Jason has been very hospitable.

It’s been a great 2 years at Sage Music.

- Google Reviews

Alan Williams

May 11, 2016

5 out of 5 stars

amazed at how fast my wife and I have both come along

I am studying the violin and my wife is studying the clarinet.

Our individual instructors are professional and enjoyable.

I am amazed at how fast we have both come along. This is a school I highly recommend.

- Google Reviews

Cillian Sharkey

May 11, 2016

5 out of 5 stars

Have taken guitar lessons for over a year here with Jason – fantastic teacher, highly recommended

Have taken guitar lessons for over a year here with Jason – fantastic teacher, highly recommended.

- Google Reviews

Eloisa Fontanez

May 11, 2016

5 out of 5 stars

the best choice I made for my daughters

Sage Music School is the best choice I made for my daughters.

I have three daughters playing three different instruments. They did an outstanding job in scheduling their music classes all at the same time. They also are very flexible with our classes.

My girls enjoy practicing and always look forward to meeting with their wonderful teachers. The teachers are fantastic, patient and professional!

- Google Reviews

Sandra Cuzco

Feb. 12, 2016

5 out of 5 stars

Me and my daughter loved the consultation, very helpful with all my questions

Me and my daughter loved the consultation with Jason and Jasmine was very helpful with all my questions. I hope to see you soon.

- Google Reviews

Margaret Griffith

Dec. 3, 2015

5 out of 5 stars

My teacher has been very knowledgeable, flexible, and gentle during this first chapter of my new hobby

I just started violin about 11 months ago.

My instructor, Evan, learned about my objectives and he learned which genres interested me. He went out of his way to prepare for lessons, including hand writing supplemental exercises as well as incorporating basic music and jazz theory into the lesson.

He also shared information about performances in the community.

He has been very knowledgeable, flexible, and gentle during this first chapter of my new hobby, and I have appreciated his time.

- Google Reviews

Sab K

Oct. 11, 2015

5 out of 5 stars

I would recommend taking voice lessons at Sage any day

I have been working with Stefanie Izzo, Sage’s vocal teacher for the past few months.

I usually don’t do Yelp reviews, but I feel compelled to do so simply because I have loved the experience thus far and feel that this is a review past overdue.

Stefanie is beyond brilliant and an excellent teacher. You don’t just spend your time singing through a song and then head out the door. Rather, Stefanie goes through the mechanics/physics/science behind singing and explains specifically why a certain technique does/doesn’t work and or why you are having difficulty singing a certain note etc., and then shows you various ways of working on whatever it is that you need to work on.

She’s constructive in her feedback and I can honestly say, as someone who had never worked up the nerve to take lessons and sing in front of others until this year, that I have never felt uncomfortable/judged when practicing with Stefanie. I’m always impressed.

I would recommend taking voice lessons at Sage any day – whether it’s just for fun or because you are super serious about singing.

- Yelp Reviews

Josiah Madigan

March 24, 2015

5 out of 5 stars

I’m continuing to steadily improve, and I’m enjoying both playing and practicing more than ever

I’ve been taking guitar lessons with Taro for over a year, and I can’t recommend them (and him!) enough.

I’m continuing to steadily improve, and I’m enjoying both playing and practicing more than ever.

- Google Reviews

Sachin B

Feb. 28, 2015

5 out of 5 stars

I find myself practicing daily and seeing marked improvement for the first time in years!

Let me give you some background on me first. I’ve been “playing” guitar for 23 years and have gone through 4 teachers though I’m mainly self taught. Every teacher took a very dry and ground up approach to teaching and left me frustrated and ultimately bored a few weeks in.

Jason from Sage Music, takes a creative and bespoke approach to teaching. His methods eschew the traditional classroom ones and instead make the lessons and homework dynamic and varied which keeps me engaged and excited for the next lesson.

I find myself practicing daily and seeing marked improvement for the first time in years!

Pricing is very reasonable and he is very flexible with rescheduling around my busy calendar. The location is conveniently located next to Court Square (E,M,7) upstairs from a cafe.

Can’t say enough nice things about Jason and Sage Music.

- Yelp Reviews

Julius T

June 23, 2014

5 out of 5 stars

This school is fantastic

I’ve always wanted to formally learn a musical instrument (specifically, the piano) but did not have the opportunity to do so until recently. I had concerns whether I would be able to accomplish this as an adult (or whether I would find a school that was well-experienced in teaching adults, as opposed to kids).

Those concerns have been completely done away with in the six months I have taken classes at Sage Music.

This school is fantastic. The studio is located 5 minutes from the Court Square stop so its very convenient to multiple subway lines (they also have a studio in Brooklyn). In addition, the hours are pretty flexible and the tuition very reasonable.

Jason Sagebiel (the owner), has a unique life story and runs a very tight ship, but is unfailingly courteous and professional. It’s obvious he really believes in his school and wants everyone — including his teachers — to succeed and have a good time.

I can’t say enough positive things about my teacher, Aleksandra (Alex). She has an approachable and patient personality, and tailors her instruction style to her students’ particular skill set, personality style, and goals. She also challenges students – in a respectful way – to reach their potential, and that has been very satisfying. In addition, she takes a genuine interest in her students’ lives and that personal approach is refreshing. It has been a real pleasure working with her — in a word – she’s marvelous.

If you are looking for musical instruction in a fun, personal, and collaborative environment, consider Sage Music. Check them out!

- Yelp Reviews

Foodie C

June 2, 2014

5 out of 5 stars

I highly recommend them

I love Sage Music.

My daughter needed music therapy to help with her mouth muscles and Sage Music did all the research needed to help her. They were courteous, affordable, respectful and always available to speak to.

I highly recommend them!

- Yelp Reviews

Adam L

May 23, 2014

5 out of 5 stars

I couldn’t be happier

I take guitar at Sage Music with Jason Sagebiel and I couldn’t be happier with the quality of the lessons.

The teachers here, Jason especially, are knowledgeable, experienced, and patient. Most importantly they are able to tailor the lessons to a student’s specific goals and needs, which is not necessarily the norm in music education.

I highly recommend Sage Music to students of all ages, levels, and goals.

- Yelp Reviews

Samantha G

July 12, 2013

5 out of 5 stars

loved my lessons at Sage Music!

I really loved my lessons at Sage Music! I had purchased a deal through Amazon Local and I wish I had done it earlier!

I was studying Guitar with Jason and he really took the time to understand what I wanted to get out of the lessons and helped me learn proper technique to achieve my goals.

I would highly recommend their studio in Long Island City!

- Yelp Reviews

Linda F

July 4, 2013

5 out of 5 stars

A teacher of the highest caliber

Jason is a teacher of the highest caliber.

With great patience and ability to convey his vast pedagogical knowledge, I am making progress in correcting years of bad guitar habits.

Jason is an impressive guitar teacher from whom I am not only learning correct skills and techniques, but good practice habits, concentration, musical composition, theory and physiology. He is a calm, passionate and dedicated individual.

- Thumbtack Reviews

Avelyn H

July 2, 2013

5 out of 5 stars

My experience with Sage Music has been amazing

My experience with Sage Music has been amazing.

Jason and his team provides service that is above and beyond. They are willing to adapt and listen to your needs. They are passionate with what they do and it truly shows.

My five year old daughter took piano lessons for over 6 months. I have to give all the credit to Sage Music for building the confidence in her as she now plays independently without much help.

I’m impressed with the technique taught by Sage despite the little fingers she has….the key strokes are very precise. Thank you.

- Thumbtack Reviews

Christopher T

July 2, 2013

5 out of 5 stars

I couldn’t imagine a better place to learn music

I was somewhat worried about starting piano lessons at 36 years old, but thankfully I found Sage Music.

I couldn’t imagine a better place to learn music than with Jason and his team.

They take the time to make sure you understand the mechanics (mental and physical) in playing an instrument, and the pace of learning is set by the individual.

Highly recommend Sage Music.

- Thumbtack Reviews

Ning L

July 1, 2013

5 out of 5 stars

a wonderful experience

My son has been taking guitar lessons from Jason for nearly three years and according to him, it has been a wonderful experience.

Jason is a very experienced and knowledgeable teacher who helps my son develop his music sense and correct way of practice. His critique and insight help my son grow as a guitar player.

I would highly recommend Jason.

- Thumbtack Reviews

Grateful P

July 1, 2013

5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous music school, it’s been a joy

Fabulous music school: Jason infuses a spirit of calm enthusiasm and respect which really encourages rapid learning (both for adults and for children). It’s been a joy…

- Thumbtack Reviews

Charles P

July 1, 2013

5 out of 5 stars

An excellent guitar instructor - I highly recommend him.

Jason Sagebiel is an excellent guitar instructor.

Jason is teaching how to play an accoustic electric guitar. I‘ve been going to him for about 2 years and have learned both practical and theory.

I highly recommend Jason as a guitar instructor.

- Thumbtack Reviews

Boris K

July 1, 2013

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding results

My son has been Jason’s student for more than six years. The results are outstanding.

- Thumbtack Reviews

Thomas S

June 30, 2013

5 out of 5 stars

Progress is felt right away

Jason knows the psychology and philosophy of learning applicable to a matured learner.

He put his thought into making teaching guitar and drumming meaningful and cost-effective. Progress is felt right away with practice. He explained the mechanics and art of playing music.

He made musicians out of his students. He is a teacher of teachers in music.

- Thumbtack Reviews

Tim T

May 24, 2013

5 out of 5 stars

If you are serious about improving, I highly recommend taking lessons

I spent two years learning guitar on my own, and in two months of taking lessons at Sage music, I have improved enormously.

These guys are technicians. They are helping me to form good habits that will enable me to play efficiently and effortlessly. Sage even helped me make modifications to my guitar.

If you are serious about improving as a player, I highly recommend taking lessons here.

- Thumbtack Reviews

Robert G

April 21, 2013

5 out of 5 stars

Sage Music has given my a playing a new lease on life

Though I’m an experienced guitarist in many styles of music, like many others I’ve long felt I lacked the basic technique and focusing skills necessary to be fully in control of my playing and musical satisfaction in general.

Jason’s refreshing back-to-basics, direct and supportive approach to technique has given my a playing a new lease on life.

It’s been well worth the trek from Park Slope to LIC and back each Saturday!

- Thumbtack Reviews

Debbie B.

Nov. 12, 2012

5 out of 5 stars

takes the time to learn and understand their student

I simply love the instructor. He is friendly, honest, easy going and communicates well to my concerns as a parent. Most of all he is extremely patient.  

The new space is open, bright, clean and welcoming.

The Study Guides that are sent show the amount of care and thought that goes into helping the students reach their full potential. Life is full of changes and and lessons can be rescheduled.

There is also a personal relationship formed between instructor and student, which is essential in the student’s ability to learn an instrument. The instructor takes the time to learn and understand their student.

- Sage Reviews

Maritza L.

Nov. 11, 2012

5 out of 5 stars

What I really like is how they teach the lessons and how they motivate

The first thing that I like is the teachers are very friendly, they have this good sense of humor to teach each one of us and you cant wait for the next class to come.

What I really like is how they teach the lessons and how the teachers motivate you to learn. The other thing is that they teach your lessons individually, meaning it is only you and the teacher – that’s one of the “best things”.

The books that the teachers use are clear and you can understand everything. Everyone in the school is very professional.

- Sage Reviews

Ari V.

Sept. 29, 2012

5 out of 5 stars

put me on the path to becoming a true musician

Having worked with 4 different teachers before meeting Jason, I knew from the beginning he was different.

I was amazed by his attention to detail and the passion that he was showing for my progress from day one. There might be a lot of guitar teachers out there but Jason put me on the path to becoming a true musician, and there is a huge difference between the two.

Jason is more than a teacher to me, I consider him a mentor.

Many of the principles that I was taught in class I was able to apply to different aspects of my life. Thanks Jason!

- Sage Reviews

Stephen S

Feb. 4, 2012

5 out of 5 stars

I love the atmosphere at the school

I am an adult currently taking piano lessons at Long Island City Music School. My teacher is Mr. Coto.

So far my experience has been just great. I am learning so much, because my teacher is a very skilled musician, and is very patient with me. I am truly enjoying my classes, and I love the atmosphere at the school.

I look forward to going there every Saturday. I recommend this school for anyone looking to take piano lessons.

- Yelp Reviews